Four states in our data require suicide prevention training for RNs and LPNs. Washington requires a one-time 6-hour course, Kentucky a one-time 2 hours, Connecticut 2 hours every six years and Utah one short approved online training at renewal. Nevada requires 2 hours every four years for APRNs only.
Last verified 2026-10-17 against the official sources linked in each row · Spot an error?
Key facts
- Washington one-time 6-hour suicide assessment, treatment and management training
- Kentucky one-time 2 contact hours (1 general + 1 on nurse suicide risk)
- Connecticut 2 contact hours, then every six years
- Utah at least one listed online training (0.5 credit each) before renewal
- Nevada APRNs: 2 hours every four years
Which states require suicide prevention CE for nurses?
Washington, Kentucky, Connecticut and Utah require suicide prevention training for RNs and LPNs, and Nevada requires it for APRNs. Washington and Kentucky are one-time requirements, Connecticut repeats every six years, and Utah lists it before renewal. Check the row for your state, then open its official source before you buy a course.
| State | Requirement (board's name) | Who | Hours | How often | Counts toward total? | Rule + source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut | Screening for PTSD, suicide risk, depression and grief, plus suicide prevention training | RNs and LPNs actively practicing in Connecticut | 2 contact hours (a contact hour is at least 50 minutes) | Renewals after Jan 1, 2022, then once every six years | Not stated | Connecticut DPH RN continuing education page · official source |
| Kentucky | Suicide prevention (1 hour general + 1 hour on suicide risk among nurses) | Kentucky nurses | At least 2 contact hours | One time; if completed by July 15, 2024, not again; certain nurses licensed after that date: within 3 years of licensure | Not stated | 201 KAR 20:215 §5(5)(d), (6), (8) · official source |
| Nevada | Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness | APRNs (optional for CNAs, LPNs, RNs and CRNAs) | 2 hours | Every 4 years | Not stated | NSBN CE requirements by license type · official source |
| Utah | One of DOPL's listed online suicide prevention trainings | RNs and LPNs | At least one training (0.5 credit each) | Listed as a requirement before renewal | Qualifies for CE credit | Utah DOPL RN/LPN renewal page · official source |
| Washington | Suicide assessment, treatment and management training (qualified program) | RNs and LPNs | 6 hours | One time | Not specified: the board page doesn't say whether the 6 hours count inside or outside the 8 CE hours | WABON continuing competency requirements · official source |
Do Washington nurses need suicide prevention training?
Yes. Washington lists a one-time, 6-hour training in suicide assessment, treatment and management among its RN and LPN continuing competency requirements. It must come from a qualified suicide prevention training program, and the Department of Health publishes a Model List of approved courses. The board page doesn't specify whether the 6 hours count inside or outside the 8 CE hours.
Whether the 6 hours count inside or outside the 8 CE hours isn't specified on the Washington board's continuing competency page. See the Washington page.
Source: WABON: continuing competency · WA DOH: suicide prevention training (Model List)
What is Kentucky's suicide prevention CE requirement for nurses?
Kentucky nurses complete at least two contact hours on suicide prevention once: one hour on suicide prevention generally and one hour on suicide risk among nurses, including stress, a confidential pathway to care and systems of care. If you finished it by July 15, 2024, you don't repeat it. Some newer licensees have three years.
Kentucky's other one-time courses: domestic violence and elder abuse, dementia and pediatric abusive head trauma. See the Kentucky page.
Source: 201 KAR 20:215 §5
How often do Connecticut nurses need suicide prevention CE?
Every six years. Connecticut RNs and LPNs who actively practice and renewed after January 1, 2022 must complete two contact hours covering screening for PTSD, suicide risk, depression and grief, plus suicide prevention training, and repeat it every six years. A contact hour is at least 50 minutes of instruction.
See the Connecticut page.
Which suicide prevention course do Utah nurses take?
Utah's renewal page asks RNs and LPNs to complete at least one of the state's listed online suicide prevention trainings: Suicide Safety Planning with Patients, Talking to Patients About Suicide or Counseling on Access to Lethal Means. Each is worth half a credit and qualifies for CE credit. Complete it before you start your renewal.
See the Utah page.
Source: Utah DOPL: RN/LPN renewal
Do Nevada APRNs need suicide prevention CE?
Yes. Nevada's Board of Nursing requires APRNs to complete two hours of evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness every four years. For CNAs, LPNs, RNs and CRNAs the board lists it as optional. Nevada's four hours of cultural competency every renewal still apply to LPNs, RNs, APRNs and CRNAs.
See the Nevada page.
Where can nurses find suicide prevention courses that count?
Start with each state's own list. Washington's Department of Health publishes a Model List of approved courses, and Utah's renewal page names the three short online trainings it accepts. For Kentucky, Connecticut and Nevada, use a provider your board accepts. Any course only counts if it covers the topic and hours your state requires.
For verified free courses, see free CE for mandatory nursing topics. We don't repeat that list here.
States without a requirement
Most other states we track list no requirement on this topic for RN renewal. Check your state page or the printable CE chart for every state's mandatory topics.
FAQ
Which states require suicide prevention CE for nurses?
Washington (one-time 6 hours), Kentucky (one-time 2 hours), Connecticut (2 hours every six years) and Utah (one approved online training at renewal) require it for RNs and LPNs. Nevada requires 2 hours every four years for APRNs.
Is Washington's 6-hour suicide prevention training a one-time requirement?
Yes. Washington lists a one-time 6-hour training in suicide assessment, treatment and management from a qualified program.
Do Connecticut nurses repeat suicide prevention training?
Yes, every six years. RNs and LPNs actively practicing in Connecticut complete 2 contact hours on screening for PTSD, suicide risk, depression and grief, plus suicide prevention.
Sources & last verified
- Connecticut: Connecticut DPH RN continuing education page
- Kentucky: 201 KAR 20:215 §5(5)(d), (6), (8)
- Nevada: NSBN CE requirements by license type
- Utah: Utah DOPL RN/LPN renewal page
- Washington: WABON continuing competency requirements
- Washington DOH: suicide prevention training and Model List
Last verified 2026-10-17. Sources: Washington Nursing Commission and DOH, Kentucky 201 KAR 20:215, Connecticut DPH, Utah DOPL and Nevada State Board of Nursing.
Related required topics
- Implicit bias and cultural competency CE for nurses by state
- Human trafficking CE for nurses by state
- Opioid, pain management and substance use CE for nurses by state
- Child abuse recognition and reporting training for nurses by state
- Alzheimer's and dementia CE for nurses by state
- Nursing jurisprudence and laws-and-rules CE for nurses by state
- Domestic violence CE for nurses by state
- All topic guides
- Free CE for mandatory topics (verified options)
- Travel nurse license and CE checklist
- 2026 nursing CE changes log
