NurseCETracker

A handful of states require opioid, pain or substance use CE for every nurse, including New Jersey, Michigan, Oregon, Delaware and Rhode Island. More states add controlled-substance CE for APRNs who prescribe. Separately, every DEA-registered nurse practitioner had to complete a one-time eight-hour substance use disorder training at their first DEA registration or renewal after June 27, 2023.

Last verified 2026-10-17 against the official sources linked in each row · Spot an error?

Key facts

  • All nurses New Jersey, Michigan, Oregon, Delaware and Rhode Island have a standing topic; West Virginia has a first-year rule for new RNs
  • APRNs Texas, Kentucky, Florida, Arizona, New Hampshire and Arkansas add prescriber hours
  • Federal one-time DEA 8-hour MATE attestation (June 27, 2023 onward)

Which states require opioid or pain management CE for nurses?

For RNs and LPNs, the states with a standing opioid, pain or substance use topic include New Jersey, Michigan, Oregon, Delaware and Rhode Island, and West Virginia sets a first-year requirement for new RNs. Hours range from one to three. Several count toward the state's total CE hours rather than adding to them.

StateRequirement (board's name)WhoHoursHow oftenCounts toward total?Rule + source
DelawareSubstance abuseRNs and LPNsAt least 3 contact hoursEach renewal periodYes, part of the renewal hoursBoard Rules 9.2.1.1.1 · official source
MichiganPain and symptom managementRNs and LPNsAt least 2 of the 25 hoursEvery renewalYes, part of the 25 hoursLARA Nursing Licensing Guide · official source
New JerseyPrescription opioid drugs, alternatives for pain and the risks of addictionRNs and LPNs1 contact hourEach biennial renewalNot stated on the board pageNJ Board of Nursing CE FAQ · official source
OregonPain management (Oregon Pain Management Commission course)LPN, RN and APRN renewal applicants1 hourWithin the last 36 monthsNot stated on the board pageOSBN competency requirements · official source
Rhode IslandSubstance abuseNurses renewing a license2 of the 10 hoursEvery 2-year cycleYes, part of the 10 hoursRIDOH nurse licensing page · official source
West VirginiaSafe prescribing and drug diversionNewly licensed RNs (waiver if you didn't prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances)3 contact hoursOne-time, within 1 year of initial licensureNot stated on the board pageWV RN Board CE page · official source

What opioid CE do nurse practitioners need?

It depends on your state and your DEA registration. Many states require extra pharmacology or controlled-substance hours for APRNs who prescribe, such as Texas, Florida and Kentucky. On top of that, the federal MATE Act required a one-time eight-hour substance use disorder training for every DEA-registered practitioner.

StateRequirement (board's name)WhoHoursHow oftenCounts toward total?Rule + source
ArizonaOpioid-related, substance use disorder-related or addiction-related CEAPRNs with an active DEA registrationAt least 3 hoursAt renewalNot statedA.R.S. §32-3248.02 (per AZBN) · official source
ArkansasPharmacotherapeuticsAPRNs with prescriptive authority5 additional contact hoursEach renewalNo, additional hoursArkansas State Board of Nursing CE page · official source
FloridaSafe and Effective Prescription of Controlled SubstancesAPRNs3 hoursEach APRN renewal; the certification exemption doesn't cover itNot statedFlorida Board of Nursing APRN renewal · official source
KentuckyTreating and managing opioid or other substance use disordersAPRNs with a DEA registrationAt least 8 hoursOnce, before the next DEA registration after June 27, 2023Not stated201 KAR 20:215 · official source
New HampshireOpioid prescribing, pain management or substance use disorderAPRNs with an active DEA number3 of the 5 pharmacology hoursEach renewalYes, part of the 5 pharmacology hoursNH Board of Nursing (OPLC) education and training page · official source
TexasPharmacotherapeuticsAPRNs with prescriptive authority5 contact hoursEvery licensing periodNo, on top of the 20 hoursBoard Rule 216.3 · official source
TexasPain management and prescription of opioidsAPRNs whose prescriptive authority agreement covers opioids2 hours a year (4 per licensing period)Every licensing periodYes, counts toward the 20 hoursBoard Rule 216.3 · official source

What is the DEA 8-hour MATE Act training?

It's a one-time federal requirement from the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2023. DEA-registered practitioners, including nurse practitioners, attest at their first DEA registration or renewal on or after June 27, 2023 that they completed eight hours on opioid or other substance use disorders. Past DATA-waived trainings count toward the eight hours.

ScopeRequirementSource
Federal (all DEA registrants, including NPs)One-time attestation of 8 hours of training on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorders, at the first DEA registration or renewal on or after June 27, 2023. Deemed met by graduating within 5 years of June 27, 2023 from an advanced practice nursing (or other qualifying) program whose curriculum included at least 8 hours on the topic. Past DATA-waived trainings count.DEA MATE Act Q&A

This is a DEA condition of registration, not a state board CE rule. Kentucky's board rule mirrors it for APRNs with a DEA registration.

Do Texas APRNs need opioid CE every year?

Texas APRNs whose prescriptive authority agreement covers opioids need at least two hours a year, four per licensing period, on pain management and opioid prescribing. Those hours count toward the 20 required for all nurses. Any APRN with prescriptive authority also needs five extra pharmacotherapeutics hours each period.

See the Texas page.

Does opioid CE count toward my total hours?

Usually. Michigan's pain hours are part of its 25, Rhode Island's substance abuse hours are part of its 10, and Texas APRN opioid hours count toward the 20. Texas's five pharmacotherapeutics hours are the exception: they're added on top of the 20. Check each state's wording before you plan your hours.

States without a requirement

Most other states we track list no requirement on this topic for RN renewal. Check your state page or the printable CE chart for every state's mandatory topics.

Free options

Oregon's required pain management course is offered through the Oregon Pain Management Commission. For verified free courses, see free CE for mandatory nursing topics. We don't repeat that list here.

FAQ

Do nurses need opioid CE?

Only in some states. New Jersey, Michigan, Oregon, Delaware and Rhode Island require an opioid, pain management or substance use topic for nurses, and other states add controlled-substance CE for APRNs who prescribe.

Do nurse practitioners need the DEA 8-hour training?

Yes, if they hold or apply for a DEA registration. It is a one-time attestation of 8 hours of training on opioid or other substance use disorders, made at the first DEA registration or renewal on or after June 27, 2023.

How many opioid CE hours do Texas APRNs need?

APRNs whose prescriptive authority agreement covers opioids need 2 hours a year, or 4 per licensing period, on pain management and opioid prescribing. These count toward the 20 hours required for all nurses.

Is Oregon's pain management CE every renewal?

Oregon requires a 1-hour pain management course within the last 36 months, available through the Oregon Pain Management Commission.