Kentucky, Illinois and Rhode Island have Alzheimer's or dementia training rules for nurses. Kentucky requires a one-time 1-hour course, due by October 31, 2027 for nurses actively licensed on July 15, 2024. Illinois requires a 1-hour course for RNs who see adults 26 and older. Rhode Island requires one hour per career.
Last verified 2026-10-17 against the official sources linked in each row · Spot an error?
Key facts
- Kentucky 1 contact hour, one time; due Oct 31, 2027 if licensed on July 15, 2024
- Illinois 1 hour for RNs who see adults 26 and older
- Rhode Island 1 hour per career, since Aug 1, 2019
Which states require dementia CE for nurses?
Three states we track require Alzheimer's or dementia training for nurses: Kentucky, Illinois and Rhode Island. Each asks for one hour. Kentucky's and Rhode Island's are one-time requirements, while Illinois's applies to RNs with direct patient interaction with adults 26 and older. Check the row for your state's exact deadline and source.
| State | Requirement (board's name) | Who | Hours | How often | Counts toward total? | Rule + source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois | Alzheimer's disease and other dementias course | RNs with direct patient interaction with adults 26 and older | 1 hour | Required course (frequency not stated on the FAQ) | Can count toward regular CE (since Jan 1, 2023) | Public Act 102-0399 (IDFPR RN CE FAQ) · official source |
| Kentucky | Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia | All nurses | 1 contact hour (a contact hour is 50 minutes in Kentucky) | One time: by Oct 31, 2027 if actively licensed on July 15, 2024; within 3 years of initial licensure if licensed after that | Not stated | KRS 314.073(7); 201 KAR 20:215; KBN one-time CE page · official source |
| Rhode Island | Alzheimer's disease training | Every nurse | 1 hour | Once per career (since Aug 1, 2019) | Not stated | RIDOH nursing licensing page · official source |
When is Kentucky's dementia CE due?
Kentucky nurses need a one-time, 1-contact-hour course on Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia. If you were actively licensed on July 15, 2024, it's due by October 31, 2027. If you were licensed after that date, complete it within three years of initial licensure. Once it's done, you don't repeat it.
The KBN offers a free course that meets the requirement, listed on its one-time CE requirements page. Logged in the 2026 changes log. See the Kentucky page.
Who needs Illinois's Alzheimer's course?
Illinois RNs who have direct patient interaction with adults 26 or older must complete a 1-hour course on Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. Since January 1, 2023, that hour may count toward the CE hours required for renewal. The IDFPR FAQ doesn't say how often it must be repeated, so confirm with IDFPR.
See the Illinois page.
What does Rhode Island require?
Since August 1, 2019, every Rhode Island nurse must complete one hour of Alzheimer's disease training, once per career. RIDOH lists the trainings on its nursing licensing page. The page doesn't say whether the hour counts toward your regular CE, so keep the certificate with your other records in case you're audited.
See the Rhode Island page.
States without a requirement
Most other states we track list no requirement on this topic for RN renewal. Check your state page or the printable CE chart for every state's mandatory topics.
Free options
Kentucky's board offers a free course for its dementia hour. For verified free courses, see free CE for mandatory nursing topics. We don't repeat that list here.
FAQ
Which states require dementia training for nurses?
Kentucky, Illinois and Rhode Island require Alzheimer's or dementia training for nurses. Each requires one hour.
Is Kentucky's dementia CE one-time?
Yes. Kentucky's 1 contact hour on Alzheimer's disease and other dementias is completed once: by October 31, 2027 for nurses actively licensed on July 15, 2024, or within 3 years of initial licensure for nurses licensed later.
Do all Illinois nurses need the Alzheimer's course?
No. It applies to RNs with direct patient interaction with adults 26 and older. The hour may count toward renewal CE.
How often do Rhode Island nurses take Alzheimer's training?
Once per career. Every nurse has had to complete one hour since August 1, 2019.
Sources & last verified
- Illinois: Public Act 102-0399 (IDFPR RN CE FAQ)
- Kentucky: KRS 314.073(7); 201 KAR 20:215; KBN one-time CE page
- Rhode Island: RIDOH nursing licensing page
Rules last verified 2026-10-17 against the Kentucky KBN and 201 KAR 20:215, Illinois IDFPR and Rhode Island RIDOH pages linked in each row.
Related required topics
- Implicit bias and cultural competency CE for nurses by state
- Human trafficking CE for nurses by state
- Opioid, pain management and substance use CE for nurses by state
- Child abuse recognition and reporting training for nurses by state
- All topic guides
- Free CE for mandatory topics (verified options)
- Travel nurse license and CE checklist
- 2026 nursing CE changes log
