NurseCETracker

Four states in our data require domestic violence training for nurses. Florida requires 2 board-approved hours every third biennium, on top of the 24 regular hours. Massachusetts requires a one-time Chapter 260 domestic and sexual violence training, Kentucky a one-time 3 hours, and Delaware an abuse-response hour every renewal.

Last verified 2026-10-17 against the official sources linked in each row · Spot an error?

Key facts

  • Florida 2 board-approved hours every third biennium, in addition to the 24 hours
  • Massachusetts one-time Chapter 260 training; DPH's online module is free
  • Kentucky one-time 3 contact hours on domestic violence and elder abuse
  • Delaware at least 1 hour on abuse of vulnerable persons or reporting obligations, each renewal

Which states require domestic violence CE for nurses?

Florida, Massachusetts and Kentucky have a domestic violence requirement for nurses, shown in the table. Delaware's renewal hour on abuse of vulnerable persons also lists domestic violence as one of its topics, and it's covered in its own section below. Open each row's official source before you choose a course.

StateRequirement (board's name)WhoHoursHow oftenCounts toward total?Rule + source
FloridaDomestic violence (board-approved course)RNs and LPNs2 hoursEvery third bienniumNo, in addition to the 24 hours required for renewalFlorida Board of Nursing RN and LPN renewal pages · official source
KentuckyDomestic violence and elder abuse, neglect and exploitationKentucky nursesAt least 3 contact hoursOne time; if completed by July 15, 2024, not again; certain nurses licensed after that date: within 3 years of licensureNot stated201 KAR 20:215 §5(5)(b); KRS 194A.540(9)(d) · official source
MassachusettsDomestic and sexual violence training (Chapter 260)Licensed nursesOne DPH-approved training; DPH's online module is freeOne time (DPH: it only needs to be completed once)Not statedChapter 260 of the Acts of 2014; M.G.L. c.112 §264 · official source

How often do Florida nurses need domestic violence CE?

Every third biennium, which works out to once every six years. Florida RNs and LPNs take a 2-hour board-approved domestic violence course in that renewal, and the board says those hours are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal. Approved courses are listed in CE Broker, which Florida uses for CE.

See the Florida page for the full list of Florida mandatory courses.

Source: Florida BON: RN renewal · Florida BON: LPN renewal

What is the Massachusetts Chapter 260 training for nurses?

It's the domestic and sexual violence training Massachusetts lists among nurses' CE requirements, under Chapter 260 of the Acts of 2014. The Department of Public Health offers a free, self-guided online module, and DPH says it only needs to be completed once. DPH also lists an approved alternative training from Simmons.

The statute behind it, M.G.L. c.112 §264, has licensing boards set domestic and sexual violence training standards for licensure and renewal. See the Massachusetts page.

Source: Mass. BORN: mandatory CE for nurses · Mass. DPH: Chapter 260 training · Mass. DPH: domestic and sexual violence trainings · M.G.L. c.112 §264

Do Kentucky nurses need domestic violence CE?

Yes, once. Kentucky nurses complete at least three contact hours on domestic violence and elder abuse, neglect and exploitation as part of the state's one-time set. If you finished it by July 15, 2024, you don't repeat it. Certain nurses licensed after that date have three years from licensure to complete it.

Kentucky's one-time suicide prevention hours: suicide prevention CE by state. See the Kentucky page.

Source: 201 KAR 20:215 §5(5)(b)

What abuse-related CE does Delaware require for nurses?

Each renewal period, Delaware RNs and LPNs complete at least one hour on recognizing and responding to suspected or known sexual abuse, physical abuse, exploitation, trafficking or domestic violence of vulnerable persons, or on reporting obligations, including child abuse or neglect. The board lists it next to at least three hours on substance abuse.

The same Delaware hour also appears on human trafficking CE by state and child abuse training by state. See the Delaware page.

Source: Delaware DPR: CE and audit information

Does one domestic violence course count in several states?

Sometimes. Florida accepts only board-approved courses for this topic, Massachusetts points nurses to the Chapter 260 trainings DPH lists, and Kentucky requires a provider approved under its CE rules. A course approved in one state won't automatically satisfy another, so check each board's approval rule before you buy, especially if you hold several licenses.

Multiple licenses? See the travel nurse license and CE checklist.

States without a requirement

Most other states we track list no requirement on this topic for RN renewal. Check your state page or the printable CE chart for every state's mandatory topics.

Free options

Massachusetts DPH offers its Chapter 260 module free. For verified free courses, see free CE for mandatory nursing topics. We don't repeat that list here.

FAQ

Which states require domestic violence CE for nurses?

Florida (2 hours every third biennium), Massachusetts (one-time Chapter 260 training), Kentucky (one-time 3 hours on domestic violence and elder abuse) and Delaware (an abuse-response hour every renewal).

Do Florida domestic violence hours count toward the 24 hours?

No. The Florida Board of Nursing says the 2 domestic violence hours, due every third biennium, are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal.

Is the Massachusetts domestic violence training for nurses free?

Yes. The Massachusetts Department of Public Health's Chapter 260 module is free and self-guided online, and DPH says it only needs to be completed once.